MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE LEICESTERSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL HELD AT COUNTY HALL, GLENFIELD ON WEDNESDAY, 29 SEPTEMBER 2021

PRESENT

Mr. D. Harrison CC (in the Chair)

Mr. R. G. Allen CC, Mr. R. Ashman CC, Mr. N. D. Bannister CC, Mr. T. Barkley CC,
Mr. P. Bedford CC, Mr. D. C. Bill MBE CC, Mr. G. A. Boulter CC, Mr. S. L. Bray CC,
Mr. L. Breckon JP CC, Ms. L. Broadley CC, Mr. B. Champion CC,
Mr. N. Chapman CC, Mr. M. H. Charlesworth CC, Mr. J. G. Coxon CC,
Dr. R. K. A. Feltham CC, Mr. M. Frisby CC, Mrs. H. J. Fryer CC, Mr. S. J. Galton CC,
Mr. D. A. Gamble CC, Mr. K. Ghattoraya CC, Mr. T. Gillard CC, Mr. D. J. Grimley CC,
Mrs. A. J. Hack CC, Mr. L. Hadji-Nikolaou CC, Mr. B. Harrison-Rushton CC,
Mr. K. Merrie MBE CC, Mr. J. Miah CC, Mr. J. Morgan CC, Mr. M. T. Mullaney CC,
Ms. Betty Newton CC, Mr. O. O'Shea JP CC, Mr. J. T. Orson JP CC,
Mrs. R. Page CC, Mr. B. L. Pain CC, Mr. T. J. Pendleton CC, Mr. L. Phillimore CC,
Mr T. J. Richardson CC, Mrs H. L. Richardson CC, Mr. N. J. Rushton CC,
Mr. T. J. Richardson CC, Mrs A. Wright CC and Mrs. M. Wright CC

21. <u>TO RECEIVE DECLARATIONS BY MEMBERS OF INTERESTS IN</u> <u>RESPECT OF ITEMS ON THIS AGENDA.</u>

The Chairman invited members who wished to do so to make declarations of interest in respect of items on the agenda for the meeting.

No declarations were made.

22. <u>TO CONSIDER THE FOLLOWING NOMINATIONS FOR ADMISSION</u> <u>AS HONORARY ALDERMEN:-</u>

Mr Ivan Ould OBE

It was moved by Mr Rushton and seconded by Mr Mullaney:-

"That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Mr Ivan Ould be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Leicestershire in recognition of the eminent services he has rendered to the people of Leicestershire through the performance of his duties as a member of the County Council from 1997 to 2021."

The motion was put and carried with the unanimous support of the Council.

The Chairman then presented Mr Ould with the address conferring the title of Honorary Alderman and a badge of office.

Mr Ould addressed the Council and thanked members for the honour they had bestowed upon him.

Mr Byron Rhodes

It was moved by Mr Rushton and seconded by Mr Mullaney:-

"That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Mr Byron Rhodes be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Leicestershire in recognition of the eminent services he has rendered to the people of Leicestershire through the performance of his duties as a member of the County Council from 1997 to 2021."

The motion was put and carried with the unanimous support of the Council.

The Chairman then presented Mr Rhodes with the address conferring the title of Honorary Alderman and a badge of office.

Mr Rhodes addressed the Council and thanked members for the honour they had bestowed upon him.

Mrs Janice Richards

It was moved by Mr Rushton and seconded by Mr Mullaney:-

"That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Mrs Janice Richards be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Leicestershire in recognition of the eminent services she has rendered to the people of Leicestershire through the performance of her duties as a member of the County Council from 2009 to 2021."

The motion was put and carried with the unanimous support of the Council.

The Chairman then presented Mrs Richards with the address conferring the title of Honorary Alderman and a badge of office.

Mrs Richards addressed the Council and thanked members for the honour they had bestowed upon her.

2.00 pm – 2.29 pm 29 September 2021 CHAIRMAN